Choices

How is it that when presented with a choice we make such poor decisions so often? This morning I was reading Adam and Eve’s story. Genesis 2:9 says, “And the Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground – trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food. In the middle of the garden were the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.”

God told them not to eat the fruit from the latter. Adam and Eve were given the tree of life. Yet, they chose to eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.

I’m afraid that is how I respond too often. I look at the life of joy being offered to me, and I say, “No, thanks. I’ve got enough life. I’ll just take the knowledge of the pain of the world around me.” I pass over the flowing waters of goodness for the sake of knowing evil.

When I read the story I can play a sountrack in my mind. Verse 9 is full of intense music foreshadowing the future fall. Adam and Eve didn’t get a dramatic soundtrack that day. I can only imagined the things that crossed their hearts and minds. Did they even really think about the tree until the tempter came? Or did they ever question the one rule God gave them?

Today our choice is the same. We have a choice to live the life of a Christ-follower or we can eat some knowledge of good and evil. We can choose to flee from evil or we can justify our dabbles in sin as “life experience.” In my short time on this earth I’ve had enough of the knowledge of good and evil. My confident hope is for more of the tree of life.

1 Comment

Filed under Words

One response to “Choices

  1. Janna

    And now you’re in my g reader. Can’t wait to read more from you. Glad y’all made it home safely!

Leave a Reply

