The Post-Post

It has been eight weeks since my feet came back to American soil, but I’m afraid I’ve left my heart with the people of South Asia. My words cannot express the gratitude I feel for your contribution to my experience there. I wish I could write you pages and pages of the stories and sights and experiences. I’ll spare you the novella and just give you my deepest impression from my time there:

God is the God of love and thunder. One of my favorite song writers, Andrew Peterson, wrote a song called “The Reckoning.” It struck me as such a summary of the tension I felt there. The presence of evil, the sight of alters to false gods, the knowledge that the people there – poor and educated alike – invite demons into their homes with their worship is only triumphed by the overwhelming peace that our Father placed in my soul. He whispered to me while standing in front of a temple to grotesque statues inhabited by evil spirits that even the one who cuts the throats of goats, sheep and, heartbreakingly, baby girls every new moon cycle can be forgiven if only they knew. The darkness is beyond description. The blindness is rampant. The need is great.

Your prayers were felt. Your money was spent wisely. Your faith was incredible. Jesus name was shared as the one true God of all. People heard His name and His story for the first time and for the twentieth time. Children heard the Christmas story in their language. Women believers were discipled as a rare treat. People came from villages hundreds of miles away to hear the words of our Father.

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:5

The Reckoning by Andrew Peterson

I can see the storm descending on the hill tonight

Tall trees are bending to your will tonight

Oh, let the mighty bow down

At the thundering sound of Your voice

I can hear the howling wind and feel the rain tonight

Every drop a prophet in Your name tonight

Oh, and the song that they sing

It is washing me clean but

How long?

How long?

How long until this curtain is lifted?

How long is this song that we sing?

How long until the reckoning?

And I know You hear the cries of every soul tonight

You see the teardrops as they roll tonight

Down the faces of the saints

Who grow weary and faint in Your fields

And the wicked roam the cities and the streets tonight

But when the God of love and thunder speaks tonight

Oh, I believe You will come

Your justice be done, but how long?

How long?

How long?

How long until this curtain is lifted?

How long is this song that we sing?

How long until the reckoning?

You are holiness and grace

You are fury and rest

You are anger and love

You curse and you bless

You are mighty and weak

You are silence and song

You are plain as the day

But you have hidden Your face –

For how long? How long?

And I am standing in the stillness of the reckoning

The storm is past and rest is beckoning

Mighty God, how I fear You

And I long to be near You, O Lord

How long?

How long?

How long until this burden is lifted?

How long is this the song that we sing?

How long until the reckoning?

And I know that I don’t know what I’m asking

I long to look You full in the face

I am ready for the reckoning

Leave a comment

Filed under Wisdom

Leave a Reply

