The one where she gets political

LoveI don’t write out of anger or hatred. I had some thoughts during an annoyance but have taken some time to think them through before posting anything. If you are offended, take heart! That’s the joy of living in America. We get to talk about what we think and how we feel and be offended by other people. That’s freedom!

I’ve come to the point where I am incredibly saddened by politics. I’m not mad or hurt or even annoyed anymore – just sad. I feel that we need to vote. We’ve been given precious freedom that people around the world crave without even knowing they crave it! We should absolutely share our opinions as well. But when did it become ok to be so unkind with our opinions? When did the rule come into play that you can’t be friends with someone across the aisle?

I vote based on my moral convictions – on my faith. That doesn’t always mean voting for Christians (everyone south of the Mason-Dixon is a Christian, right?*) Most often it means voting Republican.  I’ll be the first to admit that there are skeezy politicians on every side and underneath. There are skeezy people everywhere. The part that makes me sad is that there are so many people that dedicate their lives to the message, “Love me for who I am!” that would throw a rock through my window (or at least want to) if they looked at my ballot on November 2.

Tolerance is the word of the decade. I have to tolerate everything that goes against what I believe. That includes being called an idiot, a liar and brainwashed. I have to be willing to listen to every opinion around me and keep my mouth shut. As soon as I voice my opinion I am a closed-minded hick from the “Deep South” who hates everyone.

Have you ever had a disagreement with a friend? Did you stop being friends over it? Most of the time the answer is no. If the answer is yes, maybe we need to reevaluate out heart condition to be sure we are embracing “the greatest of these.”

If love knows no bounds, love me enough to let me have my opinion; I always let you have yours. I just want to be a friend.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:13

* Please note the sarcasm…

Leave a comment

Filed under Wisdom

Leave a Reply

