Nostalgia (Compliments of Melanie)

I love looking at old pictures. It makes me remember lots of things, particularly what I thought about the world around me. It takes me back to a point of view skewed by the people and places of the moment.

Mealanie, Jen, Me

Me, Melanie and Jennifer - Lagoon Baptist Church - c. 1998

Jennifer and I were discussing this morning just how skinny we were in this one (circa 1998). She’s not fat (she’s just got a bun in the oven), and neither am I, but when we took that picture I probably immediately thought, “I hope I don’t look fat in that picture.” I always felt bigger than everyone else. Looking back I see that was a silly thought process. Now I remember my parents telling us how beautiful we both were and that we’re great the way God made us. Despite all that I still thought I was chubby. Silly, huh?

Now I think about how it’s my turn to encourage. Most 13 year old girls think constantly of appearance and fitting in. Now that I’m comfortable in my skin I should be telling those who are not how beautiful they are. That God made them for a purpose – they are “fearfully and wonderfully made!

Take some time this Sunday at church to grab someone from the youth and tell them how great they are. They may not have heard it anywhere else, and they need to. They are!

World Changers 1998 - Knoxville, TN

World Changers 1998 - Knoxville, TN

1 Comment

Filed under Wisdom, Words

One response to “Nostalgia (Compliments of Melanie)

  1. Jen

    There could never be a more beautiful you
    Don’t buy the lies disguises and hoops they make you jump through
    You were made to fill a purpose that only you could do
    So there could never be a more beautiful you — Jonny Diaz, More Beautiful You

Leave a Reply

