I’m a liar, but a crafty liar…

I know I said I’d post on Saturday. Turns out Jon and I were feeling awfully crafty. It started when I saw a recipe for homemade marshmallows. Never have I ever heard of anyone making their own marshmallows so I just knew I needed to try it. They were delightful.

Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of mine, but, believe it or not, they looked just like the picture on the recipe! I highly reccomend trying it if you have about an hour to spare in the kitchen.

The second bout of craftiness was just touching up a project I’ve been playing with quite a bit lately. I’ve been making coffee cozies. Jon and our friend Elisabeth (I can’t remember who thought it up now) have named them “Coffee Cardigans.”

Coffee Cardigans

The black one is Jon’s, but I just felt that it was missing something…

DSC_0560

Then there was one more creative conquest. Several months ago – I may even be correct in saying about a year ago – my mom sent me an e-mail about a cool little craft project. Then Jon ran across a video of the same project. It involves turning your old vinyl records (the ones of high school choirs and jazzercise instructions) into bowls and platters. Like so:

Vinyl Record Bowls

The most fun part was personalizing the label. I think anything you give should have a personal touch. So we made a label for one of the bowls themed around the super fun Mafia/game night that we were attending Saturday night.

Armstong Mafia Label

In summation, I feel that the craftiness makes up for my lack of posting. Also, make marshmallows. It’s fun. You’ll be glad you did.

P.S. Andrew Peterson’s North! Or Be Eaten releases in 10 days. If you haven’t read On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, there’s no time like the present!

Leave a comment

Filed under Words

Leave a Reply

