Familiar Unfamiliarity

I’m in Tuscaloosa right now. Just for the morning. I came in late last night, and Jennifer and I are leaving for Atlanta as soon as she finishes an Economics test. Ick…

Last night I missed the exit I needed to take and came through the main stretch of McFarland Blvd. I drove that road every day for 2 years, but I couldn’t help feeling like I had no idea where I was. It was just a little bit sad. I miss my days here. I always felt at home in Tuscaloosa. But as I continued to think about all the things that have changes (I particularly miss the GSH – now LifeWay), I know that I made the hard choice but the right choice. Jon and I have had an exciting 3 1/2 years of marriage (3 years, 7 months today). If I hadn’t moved when I did I would have missed a lot of really great experiences that have shaped me.

I still wonder what it would have been like if Jon had moved to T-town, but I’m glad our life has been what it has. I guess my familiar unfamiliarity would be more bearable if I visited more…

Leave a comment

Filed under Words

Leave a Reply

