My, Me, I, Mine

What is my purpose? Is it to leave a legacy of some sort? Is it to impact the world so that my memory is honored and revered in the end? Is it to touch as many lives as possible throughout my short existence?

No, I don’t think so. The issue with all of those things (which are not terrible things to do with your life) is that they focus on me. 1 Corinthians 10:31 says, “…whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

In Sunday morning Connect Groups we’ve been studying John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. I read it casually a couple of years ago, but this time it was different. I got the point. A wasted life comes in many styles. Leaving a legacy can be a wasted life. Impacting the world can be a wasted life. Touching lives can be a wasted life. What good is my memory? The life that is not wasted is one that “makes others glad in God.” It is a life that disregards self and finds it’s value in Christ alone.

Piper says there are 3 types of people: those who go, those who send and those who are disobedient. Oh, how I pray that I will not be in category 3! May every moment of my life be useful, but not for my own life’s sake. May my words and my actions, may the work of my hands be what makes others glad in God.

I want to live with urgency that there are people in the world living without hope, without a future. Our pastor showed a video Sunday. Many wise men were quoted. The one that resounded is my mind is by Carl F.H. Henry. He said, “The Gospel is only good news if it gets there on time.” If we are living in disobedience, if we are not going or sending – we must do one or the other! – then the Gospel is no longer good news.

“Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:16-20

Leave a comment

Filed under Wisdom

Leave a Reply

